Gift + Passion = Change

Gift + Passion = Change

Gift + Passion = Change is a model that depicts how every individual’s gifts and special talents (i.e. performing, writing, persuasion, empathy, etc.), combine with their unique passion to create changes in the world. 

Five Practices of Exemplary Leadership

Five Practices of Exemplary Leadership

practice 1 pic


These leaders create standards of excellence and then set an example for others to follow. They clearly voice and express their personal values and set a powerful example for those around them by aligning their actions with their values. They don’t just talk the talk, they walk the walk. 



practice 2 pic



These leaders passionately believe that they can make a difference. They envision the future, creating an ideal and unique image of how to create change. These leaders inspire others to also share their vision for the future. 



Practice 3 pic



These leaders search for opportunities to change accepted routines. They look for innovative ways to improve the systems around them. They experiment and take risks. These leaders know that risk taking involves mistakes and failures, and accept the inevitable disappointments as learning opportunities. 



practice 4 pic



These leaders foster collaboration and build spirited communities. They actively involve others. These leaders strive to create an atmosphere of trust and respect. They create spaces for the quiet contributors to be heard, encouraging everyone to share their voice. They strengthen others, making each person feel capable and powerful. 

practice 5 pic


Accomplishing extraordinary things as a community is hard work. To keep hope and determination alive, these leaders openly recognize the contributions that individuals make. In every community, the members need to share in the rewards of their efforts, so these leaders make a point to celebrate accomplishments. They make people feel like heroes. 


The Leadership Challenge,, Willey Brands

The Three Levels of Leadership

The Three Levels of Leadership

The Three Levels Of Leadership model is a tool for developing leadership presence, awareness, and skills. This model, developed in 2011 by James Scouller, author and professional leadership coach, summarizes what leaders must do in order to bring leadership to their group, and develop themselves technically and psychologically as leaders. 


The Three Levels of Leadership are: Public, Private and Personal  

Scouller recommends that effective leaders develop their skills on all three levels simultaneously


Public and Private Leadership: The “outer” behavioural levels, refer to influencing two or more people simultaneously. 

In these levels, the leader must address the “four dimensions of leadership” through their behaviour. 


The Four Dimensions of Leadership:

1.  A shared, motivating group purpose or vision.

2.  Action, progress, and results. 

3.  Collective unity or team spirit. 

4.  Individual selection and motivation. 


Personal Leadership: The “inner” behavioural level, refers to a person’s leadership presence, knowhow, skills, beliefs, emotions and unconscious habits. Most importantly, Personal Leadership concerns the leader’s self-awareness, their progress toward self-mastery and technical competence, and their sense of connection with those around them. “Personal Leadership is the inner core, the source of a leader’s outer leadership effectiveness” (Scouller, 2011)

At this inner level, there are three aspects of what leaders should do in order to grow their leadership presence, knowhow and skill:

1. Developing one’s technical knowhow and skill

2.  Cultivating the right attitude toward other people. 

3.  Working on psychological self-mastery


Personal Leadership is the most powerful of the three levels. According to Scouller, the effect of Personal Leadership is similar to dropping a pebble in a pond and seeing the ripples spread out from the center. 

 “The pebble represents inner, personal leadership and the ripples the two outer levels. Helpful inner change and growth will affect outer leadership positively. Negative inner change will cause the opposite.” (Scouller, 2011).







Scouller, J. (2011). The Three Levels of Leadership: How to Develop Your Leadership Presence, Knowhow and Skill. Cirencester: Management Books 2000., ISBN 9781852526818

Mastery Mountain

Mastery Mountain

Mastery Mountain is a model of how one can master any skill. Starting from the bottom of the model, before having a skill one is most frequently “unconsciously incompetent” or “consciously incompetent”. Mastery of the skill progresses up Mastery Mountain, until one is “unconsciously competent”.  



Powers of Community

Powers of Community

The Powers of Community provide participants with the opportunity to create their own experience.